Our network

Five Spokane students named Washington Scholars | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Five Spokane students named Washington Scholars
News, People, Schools
Five Spokane students named Washington Scholars

Five Spokane students have been named Washington Scholars, the state’s highest academic honor.

The Washington Scholar program was started by the Legislature in 1981 and honors the accomplishments of three high school seniors from each of Washington’s 49 legislative districts.

Principals nominate the top one percent of their graduating classes for the honor. A selection committee then looks at the student’s academic achievement, leadership, and community service to determine the Scholars.

The three highest scoring students in each legislative district are named Washington Scholars, and the fourth ranked student is named  Washington Scholar Alternate.

Congratulations to these Washington Scholars from Spokane Public Schools:

  • Thomas Colvin, North Central High School
  • Christopher O’Donnell, Lewis and Clark High School
  • Alexander Chuang, Ferris High School
  • Zachary Taylor, Ferris High School


  • Taylor Dewey-Buchanan, Rogers High School
  • Cassidy Eklof, North Central High School
News, People, Schools

Downtown Spokane Deals

Downtown Spokane Businesses